University Of Chicago

Share it to Facebook

University Of Chicago

History Of The University:

In 1890 the university of Chicago was founded by the American Baptist Educational Society. It is coeducational & secular institute. The university was donated by the oil businessman John D. Rockefeller. The university started its classes from October 1892.

Foundation of business school laid in 1889 & law school in 1902. Three presidents were changed from 1906 to 1929 and the Oriental Institute was founded in 1920.

In 1920 financial backing from the Rockefeller Foundation helped the school to exist through the disastrous period of World War II.

In 2008 the University announced to build the Milton Friedman Institute which was a big attraction for the students of support students. The cost of the institute will be near to $ 200 million. A donation of $ 300 received from a businessman David G. Booth. This was the biggest donation in the history of the University. In 2009 some new buildings are going to be constructed for new hospital & science.

The Main Campus:

The main campus of the University comprise of 211 acres in the Chicago neighborhoods of Hyde Park and Woodlawn. It is 7 miles south of downtown Chicago. The northern and southern parts of campus are divided by the linear park.

Campuses On The Other Locations:

The University also offers facilities other than the main campus. The University’s Booth School of Business runs campuses in London, Singapore, and the downtown of Chicago. The Center in Paris offers different undergraduate and graduate study programs. In the fall of 2021, the University also opened a new center in Beijing.

Ranking & Academics:

In 2008 the University’s ranked as the 11th largest among American educational institutions and state university systems. Around the world university, Chicago University is 9th. The Forbes ranked it as 8th.

The academic bodies of the University of Chicago consist of the College, 4 divisions of graduate research, 6 professional schools, and the Graham School of Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies. The University also maintains a library system.

College Of The University:

The College of the University of Chicago gives degree of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science in 49 majors and 22 minors’ academies.

The college’s academics are divided into five divisions:

a)         The Biological Sciences Collegiate Division

b)         The Physical Sciences Collegiate Division

c)         The Social Sciences Collegiate Division

d)         The Humanities Collegiate Division

e)         The New Collegiate Division

Professional Schools:

At this time the University is running 5 professional schools as follows:

1-The Pritzker School of Medicine

2-The Booth School of Business

3- The Law School, the Divinity School

4- The Harris School of Public Policy Studies

5-The School of Social Service Administration.

The total enrollment for these five professional schools was 5,086 students in the 2009 spring quarter.

The University Press:

The University of Chicago also manages to run a press, which is the largest university press in the U.S.

Library System:

The University of Chicago Library system covers six libraries that consists of a total of 8.5 million volumes, the 12th most among library systems in the United States.


Fermi lab is one of the big science research laboratories partially operated by the University of Chicago. The University of Chicago consumed US$305,301,000 on scientific research, in the financial year of 2006.

Outstanding Students:

There have been 85 Nobel Laureates associated with the University of Chicago, 17 of whom were engaged in research at the University at the time of the award announcement. Many Chicago alumni and scholars have won the Fulbright awards and 44 have matriculated as Rhodes Scholars.

The Maroons:

The University of Chicago has 19 varsity sports teams:

10 men’s teams and 9 women’s teams and they are called the Maroons, with 585 students participating in the 2008–2009 school year.

Traditions & Activities:

The University annually manages a summer carnival and concert called Summer Breeze that gives a chance to outside musicians, and is home to documentary films, a student film society founded in 1932 that shows films nightly at the University.

Designed & Developed By UZSoft © 2015